come with me and you’ll be in a world of pure rationality

“Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world and all there will ever be to know and understand.” -Albert Einstein

I don’t really agree with this quote. I rely very much on reason and logic in my daily life, so I think that knowledge is more important than imagination. You need knowledge to base your imagination off of. For example, you might use imagination to think about how good of a time your friends are having on a Friday night while you’re watching Netflix eating a pint of cookie dough ice cream. You still need the knowledge of what your friends look like, what they enjoy doing, and what the place they are going to looks like. You’re not actually there with them, but you can imagine what the situation looks like using your knowledge. While imagination does allow you to be in a place that you aren’t, it is still limited by the knowledge that you have. Architects can imagine new buildings and mechanical engineers can imagine new cars, but they use their existing knowledge of what a building needs to stand upright or what a car needs to run. Imagination is limited by knowledge, so knowledge is more powerful than imagination.

I acknowledge that my viewpoint on this quote is biased, but who’s viewpoint on anything isn’t biased? People know things in different ways. Some people’s main way of knowing is imagination, so they would be biased to agree with this quote. I think my main way of knowing information is through reason. I don’t rely on things that aren’t irrational (ie. emotion or imagination). I rely on the stability that logic provides me, so I’m biased to say I disagree with the quote.

1fg998

Leave a Reply

